Entry formalities for foreigners to visit Andaman Islands

Indian nationals needs no permit to visit the Andamans. However, visiting to tribal reserved areas in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands is prohibited


All foreign nationals required a permit (RAP - Restricted Area Permit) to visit the Andaman Nicobar Islands, which is easily available on arrival at Port Blair by flight or ship from the Immigration Authorities for 30 days subject to availability of valid visa. This is extendable for another 15 days in certain cases with permission and the delegated authority to extend permission is the Superintendent of Police, FRO/CID, Port Blair.
The Restricted Area Permit can also be obtained from the Indian Missions overseas and also from the Foreigners Registration Offices at New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata and from the Immigration Authorities at the Airport of New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata.

NOTE :To visit Andaman Nicobar Islands (Restricted Area), prior approval of Ministry of External Affairs is required by the foreign diplomats and members of the United Nations and International Organisations holding Diplomatic (D)/Officials (O) or UN Official (UD) visa/passport.
Foreign journalists, TV cameraperson etc. including a foreign journalist already based in India (having Visa Type J), who desire to visit Andaman Nicobar Islands are advised to apply through Ministry of External Affairs (External Publicity Division) of special permit giving full particulars, inter alia, of the purpose and the date of the proposed visit. These applications will be processed in consultation with the agencies concerned and a permit may be issued or authorized by Ministry of Home Affairs. Citizens of Afganistan, China and Pakistan and foreign nationals of Pakistani origin are required to obtain prior approval of Ministry of Home Affairs to visit Andaman & Nicobar Islands.


For Day and Night Visits : Entire island of Middle Andaman excluding Tribal Reserve, Entire island of South Andaman, excluding Tribal Reserve , Municipal area, Port Blair, Havelock Island ,Long Island, Neil Island ,Mahatma Gandhi Marine National Park except Boat, Hobday, Twin Islands, Tarmugli, Malay and Pluto (Night halt in these Islands subject to special permission of the UT Administration) , Mayabunder , Diglipur ,Rangat ,Baratang Island ,North Passage Island ,Little Andaman Island excluding tribal reserve

For Day Visit Only Jolly Buoy ,South Cinque ,Red Skin ,,MountHarriet ,Ross Island ,Barren Island restricted to visit on board vessels only, with no landing ashore. ,Narcondam Island ,Interview Island ,Brother Island ,Sister Island ,Madhuban.

More Information :

Contact : Tourist Information Centre : Directorate of Tourism, Andaman & Nicobar Administration Port Blair, 744101 Phone: 03192 - 232694/232747(F)

Tourist Information Centre : Veer Savarkar International Airport, Port Blair, 744101 Phone: 03192 232414

Source: http://www.andamans.gov.in/html/entryformality.html